Sci-Fi Short Story

22 Jun

I have to write a short story.  Not a big deal.  A Sci-Fi short story?  That’s where the problem is.  I grew up with one brother being a fan of Star Trek and another brother of Star Wars.  I somehow thought this would be easier, but I’m struggling.  Spaceships?  Intergalactic crisis?  What does Sci-Fi mean to you?

4 Responses to “Sci-Fi Short Story”

  1. samanthaeden June 22, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    That’s a tough question. Scholars still debate what science fiction is. For me, science fiction isn’t always about space, space ships, and robots. One great example of a science fiction book that has none of these is The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It’s a social science fiction, an alternate reality, which is science fiction.

    For me, I am still grappling with what I believe science fiction is, and it continues to be shaped by novels like Atwoods, which, on the surface don’t necessarily scream “SCI-FI”!

  2. Beth June 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Wow, that actually helped a lot. Thank you! I’m also going to be checking out The Handmaid’s Tale. 🙂

  3. Kristin June 22, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    I’m thinking of the Time Machine 🙂

  4. Beth June 22, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    I think I’m going to do a time traveling dream, but you don’t know it’s going to be a dream till the very end. ***Spoiler Alert*** oops, too late.

Write it out!

