Sophisticated

10 Sep

Last night all I could think about was the word “sophistication” and how closely it resembled the word “complicated” in meaning in my mind. The only difference is perception, really.

For example:

There are three people, an optimist, a pessimist, and Sally. The pessimist meets Sally at the car rental agency. As they wait for their cars Sally strikes up a conversation with the pessimist. They talk for a little about cars and then conversation drifts to why they’re at the rental agency to begin with. Sally explains her situation and the pessimist comes away with the first impression (oh! How much first impressions count) that Sally is complicated.

When the optimist meets Sally they’re having drinks at a hotel bar. They strike up a conversation with each other and after a short chat the optimist comes away with the impression that Sally is a sophisticated individual.

Same girl. Same conclusion. But is it really?

TheFreeDictionary.com’s Definition for “Sophisticated”:

adj.

1. Having acquired worldly knowledge or refinement; lacking natural simplicity or naiveté.
2. Very complex or complicated: the latest and most sophisticated technology.
3. Suitable for or appealing to the tastes of sophisticates: a sophisticated drama.

It’s right there in the definition! Complicated. But have you ever looked up synonyms for the word “complicated”? The word “sophisticated” is nowhere to be found. Isn’t it strange that “complicated” defines “sophisticated”, but “sophisticated” does not define “complicated”?

How can we be sophisticated without being complicated? My life is pretty complicated right now, so does that make me complicated or sophisticated?  I’d like to think of myself as sophisticated instead, but to do that I’d have to drastically change the way I think. That would definitely make me a pessimist, right?

If you ask anyone who knows me they’d tell you I was an optimist.  I guess part of me is, but I’d prefer that all me is. I want all of the pessimistic parts of me to be cured. I don’t have any room in my life for negative thoughts or actions. I just want positive things here. I brutally edit my life of all negativity, yet I allow it to run rampant in my head, usually claiming me as its victim.

I pledge to attack this pessimism with a gentle reminder that it no longer is welcome. I want to free myself from negative self talk. It’s been banished from my life as far as I’m concerned. I guess that for me sophistication is a choice.

I’m choosing to be sophisticated. I choose to get out of my comfort zone and acquire worldly knowledge. I choose to be tough and refine myself. I choose to learn to overcome simplicity and naiveté. I choose to take the time to think complex thoughts. In the midst of complicated situations I choose to come out of it in a sophisticated manner.

 

 

 

 

Write it out!

