Salems Lot

2 Mar

I just started reading ‘Salem’s Lot by Stephen King last night. I recently watched Bag of Bones and loved it, so I thought I’d give another piece by Stephen King a try. To be perfectly honest, last night, I hated it. I thought that his writing was rough and didn’t flow. He’s a best selling author, so I was sure it was going to be amaze-balls, but not so much.

This morning though, I read another chapter, Susan, and now I’m starting to get into it. Hopefully it was just the multiple author notes and the prologue that I found distracting. He said his inspiration was Dracula, and I love Dracula. He also wrote Salems Lot in the beginning of his career, so I hope I learn a lot about writing by reading it.

I try to create sympathy for my characters than turn the monsters loose. –Stephen King

Write it out!

